Panning

Prospecting Australia

Help Support Prospecting Australia:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Reaction score
Hi guys,I'm fairly new to prospecting and still learning to perfect my panning technique.Just wanted to ask you guys what your preferred method was once down to the last bit of material and for what reason.Ive noticed two ways people do it.One way is to swirl the pan to expose the gold and the other is to tap the side of the pan with one hand.

Any Bettera. ? :Y:

Both methods are used.

The tap method I use for the finer stuff.

Using Beer. ??? :awful: :awful: :awful:

That would be a sacrilege. :awful: :awful:

Yes mackka it's in the wrong area. I'm still working my way out around the forum. Not as tech savvy as some. Apologies. Go easy. Thanks to the others. I definitely think the tap is needed for the finer stuff.

Gen1989, The case of you posting in the wrong area is totally inconsequential, the fact that you are reaching out for knowledge is what makes you human and underpins the purpose of this great forum. You will soon familiarise yourself with the forum topics etc.
I first learnt to pan, when I was a 5or6year old :D from my Grandfather...he was a miner for a large part of his earlier days when a miner was expected to be capable of between 12 to 16 pans an hour! :eek: I KID YOU NOT!...And,the pans of those days were of metal and 18-20 inches diameter!...I still have the pan he used from way back then.To achieve that sort of rate it's important to remember 2 basic steps...as my old Pop explained.
1. know when the fines(clay,silts and sands) have been separated from the solid (ironstone, quartz,etc) that's a visual technique requiring plenty of water and vigorous agitation...as my old pop said. "When you can see all the pretty coloured rocks" ;)