New timer gold

Prospecting Australia

Help Support Prospecting Australia:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Lol brother, probability is measured by depth to top of reef gravels/depth of reef gravels to the enemy (wet red clay Below)/detector/coil your using.
I'm onto you(I think) 🤣

You've got that Evo humming along beautifully Scott. And if I was a teacher in elegant hole digging I would give you a mark of A plus. You can be my foreman on the next paving job Liz sets up in the garden for sure. 😮 Far better than me...mine look more like a wild pig has just uprooted a truffle.🤔 Good luck on the next hunt mate.

Great nuggets but the thing that strikes me is the quiet stable threshold on the 5000. I might go back to spending a lot more time with the 4500 like I did at the APLA meeting where it outperformed the later detectors.
Planning more detecting this year and went back to a 5000 last year. I was not enjoying the edginess of the 2300 and before that the 7000 (and weight).
Instead of hearing an army of mosquitoes on the attack, it was nice to hear a lovely steady threshold again and being able to concentrate on those faint and often wispy variations that could be the start of a decent signal.
Also went down a notch to a Commander 8” and performance has almost matched the 2300 on really small stuff but outperformed it easily with some deeper bits.
Haven’t yet given it a good workout with larger coils with the best a 2 grammer at about 12” in thrashed ground but already have dug some exciting (and disappointing) faint deep “couldabeens“.
Also rigged the 5000 up with a bent shaft which is a blessing for my geriatric arm and arthritic hand. That makes the detector easier to control and use for longer periods by not having to grip it so hard as with the stalk grips.
Looking forward to 23.
CBB8F25A-AF79-44E7-B79B-42DD5878D0AB.jpegCF14B5A7-35E5-4835-8057-748B2BE03345.jpeg