New Member from Vic

Prospecting Australia

Help Support Prospecting Australia:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Reaction score
Hello,

Found this site while researching DIY Highbankers. A bit about myself, I'm approaching 40 and as a job I'm a Senior IT Business Analyst, live in Melton (Vic) so about 45min away from a few Gold Bearing creeks and rivers. Have 2 young kids (5 and 7) so wanting to do something to get them out of the house, the wife doesn't like camping so will mostly be day trips.

After a lot of reading and youtubes on how and where to pan I recently went out and purchased a Garret Deluxe Panning Kit from Minersden and a couple of classifiers from Aussie Disposals, only had them 2 weeks and weather hasn't been good so only been out once and only for an hour before we took the kids for some fish and chips, got some specs of gold and small i am assuming Zircons in that time. The wife wants a detector so will probably hire 1 or 2 for a day to see if we want to spend the $$ on a good detector however I really want a Highbanker.

Have been through the forum and Youtube links from the site and have gathered some really helpful information, I really like the "Walbanker" and actually watched the video that was shot by Walnliz on Grabben Gullen creek before I found this site. I drive a Grand Vitara and the Walbanker wont fit in the back (50cm too long) :( so will look at something else, I have sketched out a plan on what I want although building it will be a challenge as i'm not known for my handyman skills and don't have most of the tools I will need (i don't even own a Pop Rivet Gun :) ) however thats nothing a trip or 10 to bunnings wont fix.

Regards
Brad