Help with settings on old coinmaster 5500D

Prospecting Australia

Help Support Prospecting Australia:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Reaction score
Hi,
I'm new to the forum and metal detecting in general. I am primarily interested in doing some detecting on the beach - both in the dry sand and wet sand. I have a mint condition Coinmaster 5500/d Series 3 on its way in the post. I decided on an older analog detector as my first to properly learn how they work.

In the meantime I've been reading the manual a few times. A lot to get your head around...
I have made a list of a few general questions that I should be ale to answer myself after a bit of practice, but I was wondering if anyone has any comments from their own experience which might speed up the learning curve for me.

For hunting on wet salt beaches, it was suggested that I use one of the non-discriminating GEB modes with SAT turned on. With this set-up I will get no discrimination but should get good depth with smooth operation once ground balanced.

There is a statement in the manual that in disc mode salt is the first thing to be rejected in disc mode. Aren't I already knocking this out by ground balancing? If I am able so ground balance out the wet salt sand then I guess this in not necessary and discrimination modes are really only to reject junk targets.