Ground Mineralization - How to find before I go?

Prospecting Australia

Help Support Prospecting Australia:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Xadz

James Kennedy
Reaction score
Hey guys,

Is there any general rules when it comes to where ground starts to become more mineralized? E.g North of Creswick and you start getting lots of iron etc.

The reason I'm asking is I'm looking to try some different ground to what I'm used to (I've been out at Creswick) but I'm still a beginner and I'm not sure I could fully keep up with the ground on my GM1000 if it's full of Iron, maybe in due time with a little more experience I would be happy to tackle a bit tougher ground for my machine.

Is there any place I can research on iron content of the ground or any pointers or tips to help decipher what ground I might be walking into?

In general, the redder the ground, the higher the iron mineral content. But levels of mineralisation also get very patchy further north in the golden triangle, varying every few metres. There's also places where the ground is covered with small ironstone pellets and for a VLF machine like yours, it can be like detecting over corrugated iron sheeting. You'll know when you walk into these areas, that's for sure!

Hi Grub,

Thanks for your reply I really appreciate the time you took :)

I was wondering, is there any particular "rule of thumb" before I go and drive 3 hours and find out the ground is super hot and "useless" for my beginner ears.

I want to try and find some new areas but don't want to get all the way out there and find out it's hot ground and struggle all day.

Hi Xadz. Honestly I can’t think of anywhere that would be kind to a VLF detector In the Victorian goldfields as I have generally found Creswick one of the better ones.