GM1000 vs ORX

Prospecting Australia

Help Support Prospecting Australia:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Digger58

Peter Diggins
Reaction score
Hi all, I am a newbie and after much research have decided to get a GPX4500 and great coil to match as the main beast eventually, but for starters, I am almost sure I will get the GM1000.
I just have that little niggling doubt that maybe the ORX might be a bit better. I saw one vid showing how fast the ORX was finding a target and descriminating.
I am 90% interested in gold rather than coins and relics. I can't find good info or vids about ORX though, so does anyone have a recommendation? GM1000 is a proven and solid machine, so if ORX is about the same I'll still be undecided unless it is way better.

Thanks in advance for your advice, cheers. :Y:

if I was buying a GM1000 today specifically for small gold (prickly/quartz speci etc) it would be a hard choice I think.
But, if I was after a dual purpose machine, I think the XP would take my money, for the better range of coils & higher frequencies available

from the XP website http://www.xpmetaldetectors.com/metal-detector/orx/
HF coil technology (21 Frequencies ranging from 13 to 81kHz).
X35 coil technology (35 Frequencies ranging from 3.7 to 27.7kHz).
Extreme sensitivity to small targets with high frequency 50kHz and 81 kHz.

but .... high mineralisation can wreak havoc on any high freq VLF, including the Monster

Hi DD, thanks for the reply. Yeah, I've seen that link. Quite an impressive list. I'm tempted but would like to see good vids and feedback from users. I don't like feedback from manufacturers or others associated with a product as they have an interest, even trying to be impartial is not safe as there is bias involved even if they are not aware of it.
Decisions, decisions. Which one?
Cheers DD.