Fossicking District and Minerals Titles - NSW

Prospecting Australia

Help Support Prospecting Australia:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Reaction score
Hi Everyone,

I am very new to fossicking and am trying to get my head around some of the mapping and rules for where I can actually fossick/prospect.

So I have found somewhere I would like to go and try my luck. This is what the map looks like on the Forestry Corps Maps.

I can see this in the Fossicking District, but it also is partly in the "Minerals Title - Permission required outside of fossicking districts". Does this mean I can still fossick here, with out having to get permission from the Mineral Title holder?

1614837603_fossicking_area_question_1.jpg

The second part of my question, assuming I can fossick in this Mineral Titles area, is based off the NSW Six Maps site and whether this is crown land that does not require land holders permissions.

I believe this section of the map that I have highlighted in yellow is "crown land", well it doesn't have a lot number or anything allocated to it. Does that mean, if there are roads leading to that river, like the highlighted yellow bit, then I can fossick along that part of the river, without having to contact anyone for permission? I saw another thread that suggested I could.

1614837776_fossicking_area_question_1a.jpg

I really hope I am making sense :8

Thanks,

Rumply

I'll answer this with a bit more depth than asked for just to cover any future reference to the thread.

Within a NSW State Forest you firstly need a FCNSW Fossicking Permit. $25/year available from FCNSW website.

If the NSW State Forest is within a fossicking district then you don't need permission from an Exploration Licence (EL) holder.
However, any other Minerals Title does still require the permission of the minerals title holder.