Detector for a Surveyor

Prospecting Australia

Help Support Prospecting Australia:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Reaction score
Hey everyone,

I'm new to the metal detecting world, so I need some advice. I am a surveyor, and am looking for a detector that can find survey marks that are placed underground efficiently and with little to no metal detecting knowledge.

I'm looking for something that will detect galvanised iron pipes, that are driven into the ground in an upright position. They are around 1" - 40mm in diameter and are usually only 100mm below the surface, but can be 500mm deep at times.

It would also be useful if it could detect bronze and be able to sweep rather than pinpoint. Light and compact are also preferred.

Any thoughts or recommendations?

Thanks,

Mick.

Hi Mick
I recon a Minelab Go-Find 66 would suit for most of the situations as you state that the targets are generally 100m deep at most. Its a good basic detector, not dificult to use. If your looking to do a bit of relic/ treasure hunting then on of the Equinox machines would suit.
https://go-find.minelab.com/en/products/go-find-66https://www.minelab.com/metal-detectors/equinox-800To detect down to the 500mm mark you are looking at big $$ for a GPZ 7000
If your not going to hunt for gold then a top end detector would be a waste of money
Cheers
Bob

Hi Mick
I recon a Minelab Go-Find 66 would suit for most of the situations as you state that the targets are generally 100m deep at most. Its a good basic detector, not dificult to use. If your looking to do a bit of relic/ treasure hunting then on of the Equinox machines would suit.
https://go-find.minelab.com/en/products/go-find-66https://www.minelab.com/metal-detectors/equinox-800To detect down to the 500mm mark you are looking at big $$ for a GPZ 7000
If your not going to hunt for gold then a top end detector would be a waste of money
Cheers
Bob