plastic pans

Prospecting Australia

Help Support Prospecting Australia:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Reaction score
hi
i am new to prospecting (did a few hours in the NT 12 months ago) i have noticed most plastic pans have a differing amount of ripples. does this truely make a diffence?

Yes it does. A lot in fact. The Garrett 14" & Super sluice are in my opinion the best. Deep riffles to catch more black sand & gold. Next in line will be the turbo pan.
All are designed to maximise your results. There are some other options out there but those 3 will be the pick of the bunch.

An other tick for the Garrett pans :D
I got the 14" one just because it's big enough to handle good volume but still compact enough.

The 15" Super sluice is next on my list - they got real nice deeeep grooves & a big bottom :8 .
A pan with a big bottom are the go for when doing the clean up.

Any plastic prospecting gear - give it a good wash with some soapy water to get rid of any oils left on the surface from manufacturing.
Also, scuff up any new pan with some sandpaper to roughen them up a bit to help catch the fines better.

Ohh yeah, grab yourself a metal pan aswel...

Good for final clean up & you can bung them on some heat to dry your gold quickly. The rust on the pan will help catch the gold too.

If you're cashed up, get a Martin Marks "Qanta" gold pan. @ $130 their not cheap but if you sell your gold on ebay - 2grams should cover the cost of the pan.

I've seen one used & it was incredibly quick... :cool:

Got my 15" Garrett Super Sluice on the weekend.
Very nice to use. Will practice @ home with some lead shot to see it's/my limits on speed & recovery.

Yah Thanks Aussiedetecting got my Turbopans today & the Garrett Deluxe set, I'm like a kid with a new toy.
Next on the list is a highbanker, but it'll have to wait a few weeks. Then down to the rviver with kids to get us some gold.